Congratulations to our 14 students from 7th and 8th grade who competed in District History Day contest held February 23 at Peru State College.

Approximately 300 students from 10 different schools in southeast Nebraska created projects for the competition. This year’s national theme is “Conflict and Compromise in History.”

All 14 students from St. John’s placed in the preliminary round of competition and advanced to the final round of the district contest. Six of our students placed at finals and qualify for the state contest which will be held at Nebraska Wesleyan University on April 6.

Qualifying for the state contest include:

Reed Greger, 8th grade – 1st Place in Individual Performance

Sophia Vercellino, 8th grade – 3rd Place in Individual Exhibit

Jozlyn Barnes and Krista Hardy, 8th grade – 1st Place in Group Exhibit

Mackenzie Ludwig and Austin Sohl, 8th grade – 2nd Place in Group Exhibit.

In addition, Ella Wilson, 7th grade, was awarded the Arbor Lodge Award for best individual entry involving environmental issues and Kaelyn Monahan and Mia Fox, 7th grade, received the Kregel Windmill Factory Museum Award given for the best entry dealing with machinery used in agriculture.

St. John’s has been participating in the National History Day contest for more than 25 years. The program teaches critical thinking, writing, research skills and boosts performance across all subjects. National History Day is designed to help students learn to think like historians, exhibit their work in an authentic environment, and take ownership of their learning. It prepares students for college, career and citizenship. It inspires students to do more than they ever thought they could.

Thank you to everyone who supported the students in the research and creation of their projects. Special thanks to Mrs. Reinsch and our middle school teachers for their dedication and efforts in preparing our students for success.

Good Luck at State!!

Sophia Vercellino

Reed Greger

Jozlyn Barnes and Krista Hardy

MacKenzie Ludwig and Austin Sohl

Meg Wolken, Abbie Koelzer and Zach Tesarek

Ezra Reed and Pierce Beran

Ella Wilson

Mia Fox and Kaelyn Monahan

District History Day students with Mrs. Reinsch

Mrs. Pam Reinsch